X Lossless Decoder for MAC OS X is amazing!

I’m writing this partially out of guilt! If I weren’t so bloody broke at the moment I would donate at least $20 the Developer of this great piece of free software X Lossless Decoder. At the moment I can’t afford the gas to drive but at leastI can pass along this software to Mac users and Windows users running Wine Windows has good solution(s) for Sound file manipulation but one never knows who uses what. The great thing about X Lossless Decoder is not only the slick easy to use minimalistic interface that does so much and….. accepts Shell (Terminal for Mac users) commands for every function it’s capable of. Now that’s Sexy! Well, to a geek it is anyway.

I have to admit I am very picky about what software goes on the my Recording Studio Computer. I’ve been using Logic and Pro tools with all the plugins and Virtual instruments I’ve purchased for so long and I’m a Linux / Unix geek who loves to get my inner and outer Geek on rather it be Music Geek, Guitar Geek, Studio Geek, Computer geek or gamer boy since I was a wee Lad. I’ve learned Don’t put Crap software! on your studio computer, it causes problems in recording sessions that are time burners. I’m not talking Wow, or Diablo III, I’m talking the plethora of Open Source Software out there that OS X runs easily with BSD (aka Darwin the engine under hood of Apple Computers and Iphones / ipads) or on most flavors of Unix and many Linux as well.

A lot of Developers take the open source software, do a few tweaks if any and release it for Macintosh without decent testing. I’m sure it runs great on the Mac they use it on but that doesn’t mean it will on all unless you take the time to do it properly. I can see why though, they modify open source code, it works for them so they want to share it by offering the binaries (the source code) to others. Therefore I test software on other machines before I install in my studio. X Lossless decoder is developed by one guy with no serious corporate web presence but after testing it on 4 machines I installed it on the Mac in my studio and it runs fantastic. I’ve used it for days now finishing a back log of files that were several steps to convert and manipulate. The backlog exists because it’s such a pain in the backside, now it’s easy!

I have to manage a lot of different sound file types especially Ogg / FLAC / oga / ape / aiff / wav / ptx and of course m4a (apple lossless) Until now I’ve been using several pieces of software to do different things. Toast for FLAC to mp3 / Lossless etc. I just hadn’t found one solution that was written well enough to chance installing in my studio until now. It works very solid, it’s very fast, it doesn’t do anything out of the ordinary when it connects to the Developers server (I checked the logs all looks good so far) for updates and such, and it’s highly customizable. I was really impressed with its speed. Yes I have a huge amount of RAM because DAW loves RAM but I have other software from Major vendors I’ve paid for that takes 10 times as long to do the same simple conversions. Check it out if you’re a Mac user who has lots of Music rather creating it or a listener, it’s very helpful.

X Lossless Decoder – A must have OS X program for Music Lovers.

Comments are closed.