SXSW 2013 Keynote By Dave Grohl

Dave Grohl SXSW Ketnote

Dave Grohl’s SXSW 2013 Keynote Speech this morning was amazing. He’s always an inspiration to me and without fail he hit a home run with this keynote. What really hit home for me was the portion of his speech where he “figured out how to be a one man band” when he was 13 years old by using two cassette decks hooked together. This is precisely what I did when I was a Teen / Tween, I wrote about it here. It’s cool to find out I wasn’t the only one obsessed with sound as a kid, that someone as talented as Dave Grohl was doing the same. This specific Part of the keynote starts at 20:11 if you want to fast forward to it.

In true Dave Grohl style he’s completely hilarious, dropping the “F” bomb about 15 times with other colorful metaphor’s that he’s known for. He’s just being Dave which is why I think his music transcends to the masses, no pretentiousness or overblown ego, no BS. I also noted he’s a complete geek and a nerd, who else would illustrate live Multi-tracking music with two cassette desks but a Music geek? See, Rock starts are just music geeks more or less, but I’ve always know this.

Sorry I only have a link, it’s not available to share as of yet. If it comes out on Vimeo or Youtube later today I’ll embed it. Click below to watch it on NPR, it’s worth your time. <3 Dave Grohl!

EDIT: Someone posted it on YouTube :D

3 responses to “SXSW 2013 Keynote By Dave Grohl