Control Room Mic placements for guitar amps

As I’ve said in the past I prefer to mic my guitar amp in the control room of my home studio. It’s problematic at times for the obvious reason of monitor bleed into the microphones but, with some spiffy mic placement and padding I’ve found I can make it work pretty easily. This is not to say this technique is right or wrong, this is simply the technique that works for me.

When my Friend and song writing M8 returned from IPR in Minnesota he had some interesting concepts on microphone placement. If you had asked me if I thought mic’n up an amplifier in a control room would be useful before this I would have answered probably not. What my friend had suggested was moving the placement behind the monitors or on an opposite wall that’s well treated against reflection. Using a cardioid or hypercardioid microphone is necessary with this placement, some padding and shielding has also prove helpful. This technique is not useful with a second room mic for blending.

mic1

In front of my amp in a rotation counter to the monitors I’ve placed an Audix i5 (My go to Mic for guitar and snare drums live and studio) utilizing an sE reflection filter. I’ve also padded the wall “down wind” against any reflection from the monitors. With the 22 Watt amps channel volume at 7, the drive at 7 and the master volume at 5. The result is a complete gated effect with no substantial bleed from the monitors.

mic2

When recording clearly you must mute the track that recording is engaged, but I thought it worth mentioning. I’ve used this technique on multiple projects in the last year with great success. Give it a try and let me know your results!

4 responses to “Control Room Mic placements for guitar amps