David Hidalgo Band – Neighborhood and stuff :)

When you’re a kid from Los Angeles who plays guitar you reside in a microcosm of amazing players to go out and see live. The opportunity to Soak it up, be inspired and basically be the wandering student of the wire and wood on any given Sunday is a blessed thing. David Hidalgo and all of Los Lobos were that “THING” for me when I was a teenager and young man. I can remember like it was yesterday the front rows of any Los Lobos gig lined with Long Hair kids from Rock bands all over Southern California with one intent, to cop the soulful licks of one Mr. David Hidalgo. I was one of them!

If there’s one word I would use to describe his playing and especially his singing it would in fact be SOUL! David sounds so much like Steve Winwood when he’s singing certain songs (such as Dear Mr. Fantasy below) the hair on the back of my neck stands straight up. Here’s a few live videos specifically chosen of DH without his main gig Los Lobos, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did :D

 

Comments are closed.