My Friend Leo’s Gas!

My Friend Leo has been having serious G.A.S. (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) to the nth degree. I haven’t seen him in 4 weeks now that our old gig is no more for the time being so I had him over to hang out on Saturday. He came bearing his latest decadent ebay purchases, it was so awesome to play these Jems all afternoon. They are as follows:

  • 1958 Silvertone U1
  • 1960 Silvertone U1 bass
  • 1965 Straotone by Harmony
  • 1939 Vega Vitar Lap steel
  • Dan Electro Eric Clapton Reissue

When I picked up the Vega Vitar it rang like an acoustic. I kept telling Leo “dude this has to be hollow or have a major chamber inside.” He popped the bottom off, one big hunk of of Mahogany. Amazing! The bass is really something, totally Paul McCartney Hoffner Beatle tone, really something special. The 1958 Silvertone (Dan Electro) plays really well for a non truss rod piece and sounds brilliant. The Clapton reissue sounds KILLER! It doesn’t play as well as the 1958 U1 but if my buddy, who’s also incidentally a Luther in training in his third year with a builder here in town, can get it playing nice it will be something very special. The 1965 Stratotone is really unique, it sounds like the perfect slide guitar and much of my fretboard time on it Saturday was utilized playing just that.

All in all pretty exciting guitar geek stuff! If you’re a guitar nerd that is….. I snapped a couple of pictures just to make you all out in WordPress land Jealous :P I’m hoping to get some more time playing on them and maybe cutting some tracks with that sweet sounding Bass.

Enjoy!

 

IMG_0229

IMG_0231

Comments are closed.