Capo 3 Review

A while back I posted a Video for the Capo 3 titled “This looks very cool.” Looks can be deceiving, here’s my review.

Capo claims to have fully automated cord detection, that’s very subjective. It can’t detect a VII cord major or minor, in fact it can’t detect any VII, 9, 13 or bV cords period. The major and minor chords are sketchy at best. This feature does not function properly in my opinion.

It’s feature touted as the spectrogram display does not come anywhere near to normal wave output graphic detection such as DAW or Melodyne. It has many diagram artifacts that make the visual feature unusable. Trying to outline notes of a guitar arrangement as they illustrate in the video is a FAIL. Ears would be much quicker in this case. This feature does not function properly in my opinion.

The loop feature is broken, it does not loop whatsoever in version 3.0.2. This is a huge bug, the software is really hard to justify paying for. (See Video Below)

As for the other functions of the software, I didn’t test them. After taking it for a test drive It’s obvious this is not a very good piece of software. Overall this app should be free, it’s not worth $29.99 price tag. I hope the developers over at Super Mega Ultra Groovy actually improve upon this, it’s a great idea.

I give it 1 star and I’m so thankful I didn’t purchase it but instead opted for the trial. Don’t waste you money on this one just yet, it has a very long way to go.

3 responses to “Capo 3 Review

  1. I’ve found pretty much the same thing. The chord detection is awful on anything with the remotest distortion, and picking out solos would simply be impossible. It’s bad enough to have almost as much luck picking chords at random. I’m very disappointed.