Moving is not good for your Music?

As I had indicated in my first post in almost 2 years, I moved to Colorado! However moving from a 3 bedroom home to an apartment that was supposed to be short term… well lets just say it sucks beyond belief. For 18 months I played very little guitar thus resulting in my chops becoming diaper green baby doo doo.

Oh, and the delusions of grandeur in moving here resulted in my buying the perfect project studio mix desk:

IMG_0002

That’s precisely where that desk has resided, lonely and not used.  You see the apartment I moved into is really nice High End Nordic style living, but the ceilings are far taller that what we normally have in the US. AND….The walls are filled with concrete YAY! The neighbors will never hear my SHRED right? No they wont, the concrete will just bounce the frequencies as do the tall ceilings, anything you record will sound horrible. It is impossible to record a decent electric guitar tone here even with all the sound treatment I brought with me.

I was stuck, but in more ways than one.

Guess what? Denver is the fastest growing city in the US. Oh crap, my short term housing strategy just turned into a longer term reality. The housing market in every way increased in value, I looked at several homes online that were swallowed up in less than 24 hours. Rentals are the same way. There are far more people in Denver Colorado then there is housing available period. It’s cray cray like nothing I’ve seen ever before :(

What to do…. THE Next, the year of my life I actually almost stopped playing guitar altogether. Let alone compose music, It was terrible.

But it’s late and I need to be a responsible Team Member, more to come in the next few days.

The story does get better 0.o

Hollerrr!

2 responses to “Moving is not good for your Music?

  1. Dino! Good to see you back! Im not posting here much either. Good thing is you can grab that guitar anytime and get back to it. Sometimes a break does me good gets me out of ruts I was settling into. But too long just sucks!!!