Choosing a A2D / D2A converter For iPad Pro

Choosing a A2D / D2A converter has been an interesting process. At first I wasn’t thinking anything other than Apogee. The thing is I wanted to use in some small capacity my Yamaha HS80M monitors. The Apogee One and Duet are not good solutions to use monitors with. They both have 1 output for headphones, that’s it. The thought of using a 1/8″ stereo to TRS or XLR seemed like a really bad idea to me. I started to look around at other solutions with absolutely no expectations.

I used a little Google Foo skills and found a few interfaces that were decent solutions for the iPad Pro, but they could not come close to that Apogee converter and pre-amp reputation.  As I looked around I found a Few I really liked:

The Line 6 Sonic Port VX looks amazing, but hooking up the monitors long term isn’t going to be feasible. I like this unit so much I may purchase it and use it only for recording. The reviews I’ve read on the Microphone are solid.

The focusrite iTrack solo looks pretty cool too, but I would rather not use RCA as the monitor outputs.

The iConnectiyity looked like the one, but the reviews indicated the app and Drivers needed work everywhere I checked.

That left the PreSounus Audio Box iTwo! I think this is the interface I want, it has everything I’m looking for.

  • Separate 1/4″ TRS outputs.
  • One big Volume Knob.
  • Two inputs that can be used at the same time. 2 mics on a guitar amp at the same time!
  • An additional headphone output that is 1/4″ stereo.

I’ve used PreSonus interfaces before, I owned an AudioBox previously that I thought sounded plausible.  I have recorded through a few FireStudio’s I thought were cool sounding. Since this is an iPad Pro, I don’t think I necessary need to go Apogee to get what I am looking for. I need functionality, but I don’t need 4 inputs at $1399 from the Apogee Quartet. I certainly don’t need that huge price tag either.

If anyone has any input I would love you to comment!

Until next time, stay thirsty my friends!

 

Comments are closed.