Focusrite Launches iTrack One Pre

This week Focusrite launched  iTrack One Pre for iOS. This is a cool looking micro single Microphone pre-amp and D 2 A converter. So small is the iTrack One Pre you could record with it anywhere.

2

One of the features touted by Focusrite is the phantom power for any condenser microphone can be run off the iOS devices battery. I know I’m skeptical here but some condenser microphones soak a lot of power. I have a Neuman TLM 103 that pulls so much power it will only work on my P-Solo Pre. I can see certain microphones draining the iOS device battery very quickly.

1

Features List:

  • The preamp in iTrack One Pre lets you capture clear recordings of vocals and acoustic instruments directly into Garageband and other iOS apps.
  • The right recording level is set via the illuminated gain halo.
  • With a micro-suction base, iTrack One Pre will stick on any flat surface without moving.
  • Focusrite’s iTrack One Pre generates phantom power from iPhones and iPads, so you can record with professional condenser microphones.
  • The high-headroom guitar input will capture every element of tone and playing style without any clipping or unwanted distortion.
  • Officially Apple certified, iTrack One Pre works perfectly with iOS devices up to and including iPhone 6s, and music making apps including Novation’s iOS app Blocs Wave.

The one change I would like to see changed in the next form factor is a headphone jack. Apple is removing them which would make this item useless with my iPhone 7 plus. The new lightening connector head buds from Apple will work on any iOS 10 device. This indicates a standard that I assume will part of the new iPad launch this month.

I suspect if a headphone jack is added to the iTrack One Pro I will own one. I think the design is a really good idea.

The iTrack One Pro is available now for $129.99 US.

Comments are closed.